mitxela.com forum
Welcome. Please log in or register.

Precision clock does not boot/display/light up anything
nathan Posted: 29 Oct 2021, 01:31 AM

Images: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1szfNyKHhGyGdXCvY3aZC26Ahlk-ugQq8/view?usp=sharing

I double checked the solder connections and they all look connected. Disclaimer: I am new to soldering.

(User posted image)

-------------
[top]
mit Posted: 29 Oct 2021, 10:01 AM
yeah whatever

Admin
Do you have a multimeter? If nothing lights up at all, the first step would be to see if the power supply is OK. At the barrel jack, it should be possible to read a 5V across the pins.

There is a tiny LED on the GPS module itself, does that light up?

If you can take some more pictures, close up of the solder joints, it might help me spot problems.

-------------
[top]
nathan Posted: 1 Dec 2021, 08:12 PM

Close up on all the connections: https://photos.app.goo.gl/exY7m7G83hP3ZR4Q7

I tested the cable directly with the multimeter and got 5.1V

However, when I plug in the barrel and read on the outside connection I only get 1.7V.
(Got zero volts on the other connector, assuming it's ground or something)

Pictures of what I mean attached

(User posted image)

(User posted image)

(Thank you for the patience, had to wait for family)

-------------
[top]
mit Posted: 2 Dec 2021, 01:37 PM
yeah whatever

Admin
Hi, looks like your ATtiny chip is mounted in the socket backwards. There is a small D-shaped cutout at one end of it, that needs to match the white outline on the board.

It might be enough to just remove the chip from the socket and turn it around, but it's possible the chip has suffered some damage, if that's the case then I can send you a new chip.

-------------
[top]
nathan Posted: 3 Dec 2021, 04:10 AM

Awesome, that made the clock boot up! However, I have two other issues: