mitxela.com forum
Welcome. Please log in or register.

Morse Code USB Keyboard Mk II
hauptuhrDotNet Posted: 8 Apr 2018, 06:17 AM

Hi,

I've been very keen to build the Morse Code USB Keyboard Mk II so today I had a crack at it. I have run into a problem which I describe further below.

Firstly, I am new to Atmel chips. I began today by getting the Hello World flashing LED working. Once that worked I set the low fuse to c1 as the instructions stated and then I successfully burnt the chip with the HEX file published on the project page. I used AVRdude.

I have double and triple checked the wiring and found only one mistake which when corrected did not solve the problem. The one change I made to the published design was to leave out the Piezo.

The device is recognised in Windows XP. Initially it comes up in the Device Manager as "Morse Key" with a " ! " icon but then quickly changes to a HID device, which it says is functioning properly and has been correctly installed.

When I close the morse key (ground PB4) however, the "device removed" sound plays and the device disappears from Device Manager. This is as though I had removed it from the USB port. I can not get it to recognise the device again unless I change to a different USB port. I am able to change back to the original USB port and it appears again in the Device Manager. I am not able to 'type' any text. As soon as I close the key, the device disconnects.

I measured the voltage at VCC with the key open and then closed and there is no voltage drop. I have not measured current draw. When I measure the voltage at PB4/Pin 3 (the key input pin) it reads 5V. However, once I close the key just once and then release it, the voltage at PB4/Pin 3 only gets back up to 0.12V and the device removed sound plays. The voltage at PB4/Pin 3 does not return to 5V until I change to a different USB port.

I noticed some differences in component values between the circuit diagram and the photos of the finished product.