mitxela.com forum
Welcome. Please log in or register.

attiny not working
DAVID Posted: 27 Nov 2017, 12:11 AM
Avatar
avrs + midi = best diy synths

Member
Posts: 237
Joined: 10-September 17
i buy 10 smd attinys from china so i take my usbasp and connect it to my computer and use avrdude to program it, but always gives me an error that says that no attiny is found.
i try all of them and everyone of those give me the same error, i also use
a HVSP fuse resetter but it does not recognize them either.
Any ideas of how to fix that problem??? or what should i do?


-------------
[top]
mit Posted: 27 Nov 2017, 09:11 PM
Avatar
yeah whatever

Admin
Posts: 405
Joined: 4-May 16
First double check it's wired up correctly.

When attiny chips come from the factory, they often have the DIV8 fuse set. Try slowing down avrdude by adding -B10 on to the end of the command.



-------------
[top]
DAVID Posted: 30 Nov 2017, 01:11 AM
Avatar
avrs + midi = best diy synths

Member
Posts: 237
Joined: 10-September 17
it does not work too, i think that the attinys are damaged or something

-------------
[top]
mit Posted: 30 Nov 2017, 12:11 PM
Avatar
yeah whatever

Admin
Posts: 405
Joined: 4-May 16
Are you sure they're wired up correctly? If they're surface mount, did you solder them to breakout boards?

-------------
[top]
DAVID Posted: 3 Dec 2017, 01:12 AM
Avatar
avrs + midi = best diy synths

Member
Posts: 237
Joined: 10-September 17
yes everything is wired up correctly i check all the conections with my multimeter and i also try a working smd attiny85 from another project and it works fine but when i tried with the new one it didn´t work

-------------
[top]
DAVID Posted: 3 Dec 2017, 02:12 AM
Avatar
avrs + midi = best diy synths

Member
Posts: 237
Joined: 10-September 17
now the divice signature is 0x000000

-------------
[top]
mit Posted: 7 Dec 2017, 11:12 AM
Avatar
yeah whatever

Admin
Posts: 405
Joined: 4-May 16
There's one other possibility, sometimes chips are set to use an external crystal. It's odd that they would come like that if you bought them new, but it's possible. If that's the case the ISP won't work unless a crystal is connected to the chip. It's usually enough to poke the legs of the chip with an 8Mhz crystal while avrdude is trying to talk to it, then reset the fuses to not need the crystal.

-------------
[top]
DAVID Posted: 11 Dec 2017, 07:12 AM
Avatar
avrs + midi = best diy synths

Member
Posts: 237
Joined: 10-September 17
now i discover the error by the hard way, it seems that when i use my HVSP
instead of fixing it damage the tinys because the clock signal is way too fast for the attinys and what i end up doing is just change the fuses to a even worse state.
and the past year i use attinys and the work fine because the programmer that i use back then was an arduino that has a really low clock signal compare to the usbasp

Last edit by DAVID at 11 Dec 2017, 07:12 AM

-------------
[top]

Sign in to post a reply.